Are you overpaying on bills?
Pick broadband, mobile or energy and type a few numbers from your bill. We compare them with prices published by the providers, Ofcom and Ofgem, and show what you could save a year.
Broadband prices we compare with
Cheapest new-customer prices on each provider's own page, read 27 October 2026. 24-month contracts; prices rise each April by the amount shown.
- Plusnet: £21.99 a month Full Fibre (from), speed at this price not stated. £25.99 from 31 March 2027, £29.99 from 31 March 2028. Plusnet's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- Virgin Media: £23.99 a month M125 Fibre Broadband, 132 Mbps average. Then £36.79 a month after 24 months. Virgin Media's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- Vodafone: £24 a month Full fibre broadband (from), speed at this price not stated. £27.50 from 1 April 2027, £31 from 1 April 2028. Vodafone's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- TalkTalk: £25 a month TalkTalk U Full Fibre (65 to 900 Mbps), 65 Mbps average. £29 from April 2027, then £33 from April 2028. TalkTalk's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- Virgin Media: £25.99 a month M350 Fibre Broadband, 362 Mbps average. Then £39.09 a month after 24 months. Virgin Media's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- Virgin Media: £27.99 a month M500 Fibre Broadband, 516 Mbps average. Then £41.39 a month after 24 months. Virgin Media's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- Virgin Media: £29.99 a month Gig1 Fibre Broadband, 1136 Mbps average. Then £43.69 a month after 24 months. Virgin Media's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- BT Prices need a postcode on BT's page.BT's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
- Sky Prices need a postcode on Sky's page.Sky's broadband page (opens in a new tab)
End of your contract
Your provider must tell you, by text, email or letter, between 10 and 40 days before your contract ends: when it ends, what you pay now and what you'll pay after, any notice period, and its best deals, including new-customer prices. Out of contract, it must remind you every year with its best deals. Ofcom: are you in or out of contract? (opens in a new tab)
Social tariffs
If you or someone in your home gets Universal Credit, you can switch to a social tariff: cheaper broadband for £10 to £24 a month. All major providers also include Pension Credit, ESA, Jobseeker's Allowance and Income Support. No mid-contract price rises, and no fee to switch to one or leave it. Ofcom: the full list of social tariffs (opens in a new tab)
Mobile SIM-only prices we compare with
SIM-only plans for new customers on each network's own page, read 27 October 2026. The cheapest plan on each network, and its cheapest unlimited plan; the check uses every plan we read. Limited-time deals and promo codes are left out.
- Lebara: from £5 a month £5 a month for 5GB, rolling monthly. No annual price rises. Unlimited: £22.50 a month for unlimited data, 12-month contract. No annual price rises. Lebara's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- giffgaff: from £6 a month £6 a month for 2GB, rolling monthly. No price rise stated. Unlimited: £25 a month for unlimited data, 18-month contract. Price locked on 18-month plans bought before the end of 2026. giffgaff's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- SMARTY: from £6 a month £6 a month for 5GB, rolling monthly. No price rise stated. Unlimited: £20 a month for unlimited data, rolling monthly. No price rise stated. SMARTY's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- iD Mobile: from £6 a month £6 a month for 15GB, rolling monthly. No annual price rises. Unlimited: £17 a month for unlimited data, 12-month contract. No annual price rises. iD Mobile's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- Tesco Mobile: from £7.50 a month £7.50 a month for 2GB, 24-month contract. £7.95 from 1 April 2027, £8.42 from 1 April 2028. Unlimited: £30 a month for unlimited data, 12-month contract. £31.80 from 1 April 2027. Tesco Mobile's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- VOXI: from £10 a month £10 a month for 20GB, rolling monthly. Price locked. Unlimited: £35 a month for unlimited data, rolling monthly. Price locked. VOXI's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- Three: from £10 a month £10 a month for 20GB, 24-month contract. £11.90 from 1 April 2027, £13.80 from 1 April 2028. Unlimited: £22 a month for unlimited data, 24-month contract. £24.30 from 1 April 2027, £26.60 from 1 April 2028. Three's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- Vodafone: from £19 a month £19 a month for 5GB, 24-month contract. £21.50 from 1 April 2027, £24 from 1 April 2028. Unlimited: £35 a month for unlimited data, 24-month contract. £37.50 from 1 April 2027, £40 from 1 April 2028. Vodafone's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- EE: from £22 a month £22 a month for 5GB, 24-month contract. £24.50 from 31 March 2027, £27 from 31 March 2028. Unlimited: £27 a month for unlimited data, 24-month contract. £29.50 from 31 March 2027, £32 from 31 March 2028. EE's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
- O2 O2's SIM-only page was down when we read the others.O2's SIM-only page (opens in a new tab)
Out of contract on your mobile?
Your provider must tell you, by text, email or letter, 10 to 40 days before your contract ends: when it ends, any notice period, what you pay now and what you'll pay after, and its best deals, including new-customer prices. Out of contract, it must remind you every year. Ofcom: are you in or out of contract? (opens in a new tab)
If your phone works well, a SIM-only deal is usually the best value. Deals with a phone included can cost more in the long run than buying the phone separately; check the total cost over the contract. Ofcom: choosing the right mobile package (opens in a new tab)
Text INFO to 85075 to check if you're in contract. To switch and keep your number, text PAC to 65075; for a new number, text STAC to 75075. The code comes back within a minute and lasts 30 days, your new provider must switch you within one working day, and your old provider can't charge notice after the switch date. Ofcom: switching mobile provider (opens in a new tab)
Contracts taken since 17 January 2025 must set out any price rise in pounds and pence before you sign. If your provider raises the price by more than your contract says, it must give you 30 days' notice and let you leave without an exit fee. Ofcom: price rises, what are your rights? (opens in a new tab)
On Universal Credit, Pension Credit or certain other benefits? You may get a mobile social tariff: cheaper, with no mid-contract price rises. Ofcom: social tariffs (opens in a new tab)
The energy price cap
From 1 October 2026 to 31 December 2026, the cap for a typical home paying by direct debit is £1,723 a year (Ofgem). On the Great Britain average rates, that's electricity 26.32p per kWh plus 54.83p a day, and gas 7.97p per kWh plus 29.68p a day. We use your region's rates in the check (worked out: £1,724 a year at typical use).
The cap limits the price per unit and the standing charge, not your total bill, and fixed tariffs aren't covered by it. Ofgem: price cap rates by region (opens in a new tab) · Ofgem: typical use figures (opens in a new tab)
Suppliers' own pages: British Gas (opens in a new tab) · Octopus Energy (opens in a new tab) · E.ON Next (opens in a new tab) · EDF (opens in a new tab) · OVO (opens in a new tab) · ScottishPower (opens in a new tab)
Read 27 October 2026. Prices change; the provider's page is the one to trust. We earn nothing from these links. MoreBack doesn't compare insurance, loans or mortgages.
MoreBack is an information tool, not a lender or credit broker. It only compares cards you already hold, and never recommends a new card.